Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an amateur meteorologist, took some courses in college and know a few people in the field. I have good news for everyone. Beginning later this week for the Upper Midwest and late weekend for the Great Lakes region, our areas will be returning to normal winter weather patterns for a prolonged period. Several factors are contributing to this and I won't go into great detail what they are (if you want to know then pm me) but we will be seeing a return to a normal pattern with colder temps and outbreaks of snow. Thank god, it's looking like we will all get to finally dust off the sleds.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's hard to predict when those alberta clippers will sweep on down. Just know that what has fallen as rain or mixed precip will fall as snow. I'm not saying it's going to snow, i'm saying the weather is returning to normal January conditions.

·
Registered
850 Posts
We have two inches of snow on the ground now in southeast michigan.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It's going to warm up again before it gets cold so what you have now will be gone

·
Registered
78 Posts
The weathermen around here are saying the same thing. I guess this shift is "historic"...not in that we will get record cold or snow but based on the way the weather pattern has been for the last couple of months it is a complete reversal and such a drastic change has never been seen. Catmandu you might be able to expand on this from the weather side (I don't know much about the details) but I'm just glad to hear that there will be a change for the better (even if it turns out to just be a little, it's will be better than what we've had).

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
OK here comes some science: