Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok to start off Im new to this all and just got 2 sleds (cheap)
1st is a 81 Indi 340 540 miles
2nd is a 84 Indi 600 1500 miles

Both of them haven't been run in 2 years.

To start off I've replaced all the gas lines, put new gas in, and cleaned the carbs, 5 total between the 2 sleds, put in new plugs and replaced the pull rope on the 340 (hope I don't have to do that too much!)

They are running well after I get them up to about 2500 rpms, but they just won't idle. I'm no carb man, so is there any good advice short of taking them to the shop for work that anyone could sugest? Oh, on the 340 the only way to start it is to put it full choke till it turns over and then no choke and hold down the throttle. Usually after 2 pulls the 340 starts, and the same for the 600.

Everything else seems to be doing great.

Ok I went back into the carbs on the 340 and spent special time with the pilot jets and yaaa they were crudy cleaned them out and put every thing back together and man she has a nice idle. one down and one to go now to go after the 600 and 3 more carbs but what a pay off thats been the only thing that was wrong with these sleds

·
Registered
134 Posts
sounds like on the 340 the carsb are outta synch...i had the same problems wrong with my ext wouldnt stay idling...im not much of a carb man but taking what has happened to me in the past and by what ur explaining sounds much the same

Duct tape the only real solution

·
Registered
277 Posts