Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinkin about buyin a aluminum sled deck for my 07chev 2500HD diesel. I am new to snowmob[attachment=50971]iling. My first question is how hard is it unloading a sled that dont have reverse? How does the truck handle with weight up high. I see a lot of decks aroud here and think it would pretty slick. Also I have 6 inch lift on truck so would be pretty high.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
I personally have never used one but have thought of making one. I do not think many people one here use them, at least I have not seen or heard of many using them. You might want to check Snowest on this, I know there are a lot of Sleddeck users on that site.

DW

·
Registered
841 Posts
All we ever used was a deck. I only bought a trailer 5 years ago, when the trucks weren't trucks anymore. With todays trucks, 2 sleds in the back and it's overloaded. But a man-truck like yours can handle the load.
As for the height, the ramp might be a bit steep, but I have seen 2 piece ramps that fix that problem.
Also with no reverse, you do have to man handle it back a few feet and then they just slide down the ramp.
IMO, they are a good setup.

·
Registered
1,609 Posts
I'll try searching the topic for you there was a previous post on this topic and I will do my best to help you out man. I know there was a guy let me try and find it.

Welcome to the Site

Sled_Crew

·
Registered
764 Posts
is that a long box?? If not dont bother, i tried making one for my short box recently and it didnt work. But i like the idea of them, and ya u would need a 2 piece ramp for sure cause thats quite a steep climb with little traction

·
Registered
5,400 Posts
Can someone please inform me what a sled deck is supposed to do for you?

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
since you have a truck make a snowbank, put like a big piece of plywood so the carbides dont get stuck on the tailgate. then it should slide right off.

·