Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got two 88 yamaha exciters, with the #9 plugs in them now. One of them fouls plugs often and the other takes some time to wrap up, once it's wraped up it's very responsive but you have to "dig it out of the hole" if it's been idling for very long.
I'm new to sleds, my buddy says he would run some hotter plugs. #8's maybe. What would you guys recomend. My manual calls for 9's.

·
Registered
3,063 Posts
don't change plug heat ranges to reduce plug fouling. If the manual says 9 stay with 9's and tune around that. It seems you probably have crappy jetting(too rich or un-syncronized), crappy oil, or possibly low compression.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I guess it's time to tear apart the carbs and clean them out. I think it's got to be bad jetting our fouled carbs. Runs fine above 2500 rpms so maybe it's just the main jet needs adjusted.

·
Registered
174 Posts
That,s the low speed circuit. There is a smaller jet screwed into a hole right next to the main jet tower. That is the pilot jet, and they plug up often.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Crimsonride. your probly running NGK BR9ES try a set of BR9EV plugs they might cost a little more but they'er less prone to fouling the differance is the ev's have a finer electrode but still retain the same heat range hope this helps.

·
Registered
4 Posts
i have a 90 exciter and i also have to run br9's i wanted a race style plug so i went with the BR9EG,i like them i havnt fouled one yet since i switched to them.

·
Registered
4 Posts
by the way those are NGK plugs, also if you have the correct manual for your sleds it has a chart for the right jetting at the right elevation

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #11