Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i picked up a blown 2004 pro x ves motor for 50 bucks from a friend, i am turning it into a race motor for one of my grass drag sleds. i have all the new pistons and everything to rebuild it. the cylinders are currently being honed. and i have some high comp heads on order.

now heres my questions-

--first off i want to do a little light porting to the cylinders, i have never done this before (i have all the rotary tools for the job) so if someone who has knowlege of two stroke performance porting, could you give me a little background on how to port and what my main objectives are? and please dont tell me to send it to a profesional cause i want to start doing this myself. i have two set of spare cylenders from the friend just in case.

--and the second question is about the exhaust valves? is there and kind of mods to do to them? can you do anything to them to make more power or torque? ive heard of putting stiffer or softer springs in them, what does that do?

thanks for the help guys,
nick

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
Honestly, I'd look into another place for tech info like this. Give "The Crankshop" a call. They're in Vermont and Im sure they'd help you out. Also try HCS ( a lot of guys on there that modify these motors ). I know theres a few people on here that know a little, but a race shop is your best bet.

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yah ill give hcs a try too

·
Registered
244 Posts
stiffer or softer springs would determine when the valves themselves would open up at

·
Registered
8,842 Posts
fox440 said:
i picked up a blown 2004 pro x ves motor for 50 bucks from a friend, i am turning it into a race motor for one of my grass drag sleds. i have all the new pistons and everything to rebuild it. the cylinders are currently being honed. and i have some high comp heads on order.

now heres my questions-