Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,293 Posts
The ultra sp is 105-108HP, the spx is closer to 135hp because its triple piped from the factory..My bro has a 97 ultra sp and it has good power and tops out at about 106mph with stock gearing,it will pass my 99 rmk 700 after 60mph..If you pipe and clutch a sp you can get up to 145hp out of them,then they really scream..He has 3700 miles on his and hasnt touched a thing it has been very reliable..Hope this helps

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
i had a 97 ultra spx 680 and with the dyno port tripple pipes it brought the hp up to 148 and the v-force reeds might have brought it up to 150..they are very quick sleds but i hated the way it handled especially in deep powder and it is very heavy and the ride sucked but of cource im comparing it to my 03 sks

·
Registered
13 Posts
I have 8 years experience riding a 96 ultra sp(stock, single pipe), here is what I know.
The good: very smooth seemless power. very good low end power. Engine has been bullet proof for 5500 miles. Not a single hichup. Starts every time on first or second pull hot or cold. Not noisy AT ALL, exhaust noise is real low.
The bad: Definetly not one of the fastest 700 class triples. And in my opinion somewhat under powered in stock form. Very heavy. This sled is a nose diver and suffers in other areas becouse of this. Including hard landings and the associated broken parts.
The rest: There are many aftermarket bolt ons that claim to make this engine very powerfull. However there is always a penalty or a give and take factor. The most common of these is loss or decrease in bottom end grunt which is one of the best aspects of this sled. I prefer to have the power out of the corner as opposed to the end of the lake or field. Gas and oil usage is about average for this class. xtra 10 is sooo dated but not bad. Original Indy chasis has its draw backs but it can definatly take a hit better than any newer sled I have seen.