Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am in the middle of trying to do a 136" extension to my 01 Po 600xc... I cut the track off and got the rear skid out but can't figure out an easy way to get the rear shocks out of the skid (I want to have them rebuilt). Is there a trick to doing this? or do I need to take the whole rear skid apart? I am a newbie I know... :)

2nd Question is there an easy way to get to the chain case or should I take the exhaust can off to make it more accessible?

I'll probably have more questions the further I go... I appreciate all your help and feedback...

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
Check this out.
http://www.snowmobilefanatics.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15753

As for accessing the chain case definately remove the exhaust system.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I was looking at that post but couldn't figure out how it was that out in the open... i will remove exhaust and that should make it a buch easier...

Shocks out of skid tricks?

·
Registered
4,983 Posts
If the skid is out of the track, then the shocks just unbolt. I'm not sure why you think that's difficult. Do you have pictures of your skid?

·
Registered
3,729 Posts
The shocks just unbolt from the skid. One bolt at each end of each shock. If you have the skid out, it is easy.

Did you seriously CUT the track off? Was it bad? You will have to dig into the chaincase to get the new track on, anyway. Removing the exhaust is as simple as removing a few springs with a pair of vise grips. Maybe one bolt, too.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #6