Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
Looking for some input on reeds.
I met a guy on the trail with a 99 500XC like mine, only he had a few upgrades like a can, and Boyesen reeds. He said they made a big difference in throttle response, and boggy mid-range.

My XC has 3200 miles on it, and was thinking of at least looking at the stock reeds to see if they are OK, but might look at just changing to aftermaket ones.

The choices here in Canada are:
1. V-Force 3 (most spendy with it's own dual petal cage design)
2. Carbon Tech
3. Boyesen

Please let me know if ne1 has used any of these on an XC.
Thanks,
Kev(500..)

·
Registered
3,063 Posts
I have no experience with reeds on sleds but I do have it with my motox bike. I upgraded to V-force reeds and it made a very nice difference...better throttle response and better bottom end. Any aftermarket will give you better performance but the Vforce will give you the best across the board increase.

·
Super Moderator
11,279 Posts
My bro put boyesen reed peddles on his ultra and they made a diff but not a real big one..I also put a boyesen rad valve reed/intake system on my yamaha blaster quad and that woke it up big time,the whole power band was better...so its tuff to say but iv had good luck with boyesen but I know people that have had V-force to and had no problems..later

·
Registered
837 Posts
i've tried carbon tech, nothing really happened, if anything very minor, put v force in wow, much better mid and top end, anymachine that has reeds i put v force in

·
Registered
2,770 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Guys,
Sounds like the V-Force is the way to go...but man...they are triple the price.
Not sure if I want to spend almost 400 bucks just on reeds.
Will think about it.
Thanks for the input.
K

·
Registered
312 Posts
specially since they wont give you more then 3 to 7 hp ,,