Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took my sled on its first ride. The first day it ran great every thing was working and running awesome. The 2nd day i started riding and just about 1/4 mile down the rode the engine shut off and the track locked up. I tried pulling it over and basically i just about broke off the handle trying to. Its an awesome way to start off a season.

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
I feel your pain on that. My 3rd year riding my motor blew 3 times thanks to a faulty water pump. Hopefully you get it back together and running again soon!

·
Registered
377 Posts
Was it out of oil how did it happen??

·
Registered
9,987 Posts
If you started it cold and immediately ripped, it's probably a cold seizure and minimal damage.

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
sledcrusher said:
I feel your pain on that. My 3rd year riding my motor blew 3 times thanks to a faulty water pump. Hopefully you get it back together and running again soon!

Didn't havent a temp gauge or a over-heat light on your sled? Most sleds come with a stock one

·
Registered
2,922 Posts
The_Mad_Warrior said:
sledcrusher said:

Didn't havent a temp gauge or a over-heat light on your sled? Most sleds come with a stock one
The water pump impeller was nylon and would melt. It was attached to the shaft and it would lock up where it meets the crank.

·
Registered
393 Posts
Did the motor seize up?A buddy of mine had the primary clutch lock fully shifted out on a 02 800 renegade skidoo.Acted the same way.

·
Registered
538 Posts
check all the oil lines. we had a yami exciter lock up because the oil line from the tank to the pump cracked while riding and the motor seized from not having any oil going into it.

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Ugly_old_Poo_kid said:
If you started it cold and immediately ripped, it's probably a cold seizure and minimal damage.