Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I really hope you can help me on this one. I'm rather new to snowmobiling and not all that familiar with them, so excuse the ignorance [:)]

Anyways, last year I bought a 1997 Polaris Indy 440 (liquid cooled)

This year, on thanksgiving when we got some snow, i took it around the house for about 20 minutes, and seemed to run without any trouble. However, we got some more snow, and then me and a buddy went trail riding. It seemed OK on the way there, but upon returning we had to go through some water ( no trouble for his 96 indy lite, but when i went through it due to the low profile of the sled, it got me all wet)

After going through that water, the sled seemed to bog down a lot. What happens is, i go to accelerate and it just goes "blah" and wont rev up. Sometimes if you throttle it just right and you get it going it will pick up and it goes until you let off again. It got worse and worse as we kept riding, and eventually if you tried to let it idle, it was about to quit on its own, and the lights in the dash were low and flickering like it was losing power. So we let them sit for an hour or 2, came back, my sled started right up and ran fine again. So we put them away and went to go riding the next day in the thick powder, and it started doing it again (the snow was going over the hood and through the vents, so water is getting on something again)

sorry for the length, but to try and cut it short, I'm pretty sure water is doing something to the sled, im not sure what but if anyone has input or feedback i would greatly appreciate it. thanks guys!

·
Registered
8,108 Posts
could be your CDI getting wet... I had the same problem, put the CDI in the oven when it happens next, at like 170 degrees F, and let it bake for 30min. If it works fine until you get it wet again, then get a new CDI.

-Dean

·
Registered
8,842 Posts