Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine is looking at a 98 SRX 700 and we checked the compression cold and all three came to around 125-127psi. The sled is supposed to have about 3500km on it with a few upgrades. I was wondering if the compression is right about where it should be, or is it a little low? Any help would be great......

·
Registered
3,188 Posts
I'm no Yamaha expert, but I'd say those are good/average numbers for a healthy engine. More importantly, is that each cylinder is within about 5% of each other.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no Yamaha expert either, but I know that my sled sits at about 135 for both cylinders... 125 ish just seemed a little low, but that could be just me.... The biggest reason I'm asking is because the guy with the Yamaha wants my buddies 68 340 Baracuda Fastback. The Cuda is 68 Fastback - white, 8 -3/4" w/3.91 posi, a race preped 727 auto tranny, 1970 block 340 60 over, cutom ground cam, and other go fast parts, headers and full duel 2 1/2" exhaust, also he has a full set of center line rims and the original rally rims - plus boxes of other parts off a donar car....The car was appraised at $10 000... The Yamaha has Boyesen Reeds, Custom Air box (vents by speedo) Brand new track (no miles), aftermarket can (not sure of name)little aluminum bogies on front of skid (says they cost him $250) and it has a clutch kit (also not sure what one)... My buddy is only asking $6500 + 500 for all his extra parts for the car, buddy is asking $6500 for the sled but said if someone offered $5500 it would be gone....So Bill said the sled and $1000 (no extra parts) - Buddy says I'll have to talk it over withthe wife... Is it a fair deal?

·
Registered
864 Posts
Does'nt sound like a bad deal,