Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to the sport of snowmobiling, actually I just got the sled 3 days ago, and I have very little idea of how to start it. I got the sled from a friend that did not want it anymore and so he gave it to me. The reason he did not want it is that he thought the engine was seized. When I picked it up I found that, like he said, I could not pull the starter. I took it home and opened the hood. I was messing around and decided to try and twist the crankshaft. It went with out a problem. So i got on the machine and gave the starter a yank, it pulled fine and I heard the engine clyinders go thump-thump under compression. I popped the key in, put the safety on, opened the shutoff, primed it a couple times, pulled, and nothing happened. So today I went and bought some new sparkplugs for it. I put them in and nothing happened. Am I doing something wrong? I thought there would be a choke, but I can't find it. The machine has a full tank of gas, but I don't know how long it has been sitting. Can you please help me. Give me an idea of how to start this thing. I wanna ride before the season ends. Thanks for your time and answers.
Judson

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I tried that...I didn't work, but thanks.
Jud

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well I checked by sticking a screwdriver in the cap and holding it next to the head bolt. It had good spark.

·
Registered
699 Posts
i was always told it takes spark compression and fuel to make it run you know you have spark and compression try fuel pump that primer a little more

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I really appreciate your quickness and patience with me. But yet again this is something I have tried. I pumped that primer a ton of times (maybe 25...not all at once) and I could see the fuel bubbling in the hose as I did it. Thanks again for your help thus far.

·
Registered
1,075 Posts