Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,378 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a stock set of steel skis for a 95 XCR 440. If I put Polaris stock plastic skis on, can I re use my old rubber bumpers where the ski mounts?

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
I have a 91 Indy 400 with steel skis and a 2000 xc sp 600 with stock plastic skis. I'm looking to get aftermarket skis for the 600 and put the stock plastic ones on the 400. It looks to me like the skis will work fine, but the rubber bushing is quite different. It looks to me like you'll need the narrower modern rubber to go with the new skis. I'm by no means an expert, but nobody was answering you so I thought I'd give it a shot.

·
Registered
50 Posts
I didn't have a problem with the swap on a 96' xcr, but the difference was the plastic ski would hit the trailing arm and chatter, or bounce off of it when riding,just a little anoying that's all

·
Registered
593 Posts
I did a conversion on my 1991 sport 440, I had to get new rubber pieces because my pieces off of the metal ski were way too wide. If you get aftermarket skis a new rubber piece comes with it.

·
Registered
2,223 Posts
I put a pair of plastic skis from an '04 XC on my 96 XLT last season. Swapped right over w/o a problem.

·
Registered
511 Posts
shouldn't be a problem!!! if it is you should be able to get a used set of the rubber bushings from your dealer or a salvage yard or somewhere for cheap.

·
Registered
2,378 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
So some say it works, some say it doesn't...

Ultra680, do you mean you need the specific plastic ski rubbers for it to work properly, but some are saying I don't.

What should I do?

·
Registered
2,865 Posts
i would just try it out first, if it doesnt fit then just take a knife to the rubber and hack it up a little, if it still doesnt work i would just buy a new rubber or go to a salvage yard.

·
Registered
2,257 Posts