Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to stud my '96 XLT SP this season and was wondering what length of studs I should install. The track has 1" lugs. Woodys website suggests 1.075" studs. This doesnt seem that long to me, but I'm new to this so I'm not sure how long they should be. Any ideas or suggestions on what studs I should use? and how many? I'm a pretty agressive rider, and do ride lakes quite a bit.

·
Registered
2,729 Posts
I'd go with 144 woody's gold diggers, either all down the middle belt or the traditional setup on all 3 belts. the reason the number seems small to you is because you need to add the thickness of the backer plate to the stud to get installed height. I believe the aluminum backers are .220 thick so you would actually have 1.295" installed height, which would get you right in the prime area of 1/4 - 3/8" penetration.

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What does the pattern for 144 down the middle look like? Whats the difference between Square or Round backers?

·
Registered
3,675 Posts
TOU, are you sure you meant to say add the thickness of the backer plate... or did you mean add the thickness of the stud head... The backer wont add any length to the stud...

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Originally posted by hooha311
[br]What does the pattern for 144 down the middle look like? Whats the difference between Square or Round backers?
i need to know that exact same thing, where can i find a 144 down the middle pattern??

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Wow, I should have searched the forum before I posted my question about the stud length, obviously this question had been asked/answered MANY times. Sorry guys, however I would like to see a 144 down the center template! :p

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Woodys doesnt have a 144 down the middle pattern, should I use the 192 pattern and just not put the outside belt studs in?

·
Registered