Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to check out a summit 670 1997 mod.are these good sleds?. how do they work in the snow and are there any things that break easily on them. i have heard they run strong is this correct?. and what kind of track do they have?. please you ski-doo sled heads reply, i have no experience with them since i have only owned cat's

·
Registered
170 Posts
im thinking about new 550 summit.. im not really mountain rider, but cheap mountain sled would be nice.
im sure that 670 would be good sled atleast for my needs. currently i have mxz renegade but its useless in powder.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm sure the 550 summit is a nice machine..but haven't you concidered a second hand 1-3 year old summit 700-800 instead?. the power in a 550 fan cooled engine is not so big i think. And in the powder you need all the hp you can get. just my opinion :)

·
Registered
170 Posts
hmm.. yes, if i could get one sure i would buy it. but they are quite rare here.. what i like in 550 is that its so light, good track and price[:D]. im not really a mountain rider because here we dont have that kind of mountains here, you know.. i would like to ride in eh..flatland powder so i really dont need that much hp's than in the steep mountain.
of cource you can always upgrade it[;)]

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
The 670 is a good motor, There have been some minor issues with the DPM vacuum lines leaking cuasing the sled to run poorly but thats not something that can't be checked and fixed if its a problem. Track angle of attack is pretty steep. They have a tendancy to trench in bottomless snow instead of climbing on top. I have a buddy that has a 670x he rolled the chaincase and did a couple of other mods and it work reasonably well.

·
Registered
352 Posts