Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a newly aquired 900 T cat with zero knowledge of its past history. A compression test shows the center cylinder @ 100psi. with the outside two making around 120psi. After pulling all 3 pipes off and probing around with a flashlight the cylinder walls and pistons all look great with the exception of some darkish black shading under the bottom ring of the low center cylinder. Its not a caked carbon buildup but just some blackish color on the front of the piston body, there is no scoring that I can see on any of the three cylinders or pistons from what is visable through the exhaust ports. The sled purrs like a kitten at idle and has no obvious defaults while running.

My question is, is it time for new pistons/rings/nicasyll(sp)? Total top and bottom refressh? Or will just new rings suffice? pardon my ignorance but Im new to this whole two stroke thing?

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
nah you should be fine to run it. if it drops lower tho you might want to think about a rebuild

·
Registered
41 Posts
Others will know a lot more on motors than me, but from what I understand you really do not want more than 10 percent difference in the cylinders. 100 psi is getting on the low side, If I had the money, I would not ride too much more before rebuilding it. But you say it all looks good from what you can tell, it may go a while yet before it grenades. I would definitely keep an eye on the psi.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Our season here is very short and parts generally have to come from online. I'll rebuild the whole thing now if need be, but if the pistons and jugs look OK then wouldndt the rings be the cuprit?

We run on average about 500 miles a year so If I can get another season out of fresh rings and gaskets then great, if not then I'l do whatever it needs.

·
Registered
2,505 Posts