Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to snowmobiling. 1994 ski-doo safari L 377

I recently got stuck and chewed up the side of my track getting out. The wear/damage on the track shows mostly frayed nylon threads. There are no cuts into the track but a few small gouges and scraping away of the rubber side wall/edge. There is two 1/4 inch spots where you can see the white hard cord inside the tack but it is intact with no cuts.

I am wondering if this is a problem or is the track still safe to use. cant really afford new track.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for link.

The small amount of damage seems to little to repair. Has anyone seen this type of wear I described cause a track to fail?

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
I've heard guys talk about melting the edges to stop in from riping, AND/OR taking a drill and making a whole so that the rip is rounded and wont continue... Is it a rip or just a little gouge(sp?). It should be fine...

·
Registered
1,075 Posts
Nothing to worry about,as long as there's no tears you will be fine.the edge of the track is allways the first place to show signs of wear.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Yeah, that sounds real minor. I wouldn't worry about it. Just keep an eye on it, you'll know it's getting to the point where it's about ready to let go... but tracks are amazingly tough. If it starts splitting (I really doubt it will from what you've described) then I'd get serious about replacing it.
The only time I've had a track fail is when they're old & weather checked badly. Mine had gouges worse than what you're describing & I put another 5,000 hard miles on it before it got to the point where I didn't trust it anymore. It still was holding up fine, but it was getting really chewed all to hell by that time - and I found a brand new Polaris 1.75" paddle on Ebay for $175.00.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Agreeing all over here.