Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got done adding V Force 3 reeds and a SLP boost bottle to my sled, a 98 XC 700. This is just some of my mods I plan for to help pass the time in the off season. I soon plan to add twin pipes, and a performance clutch kit. The reeds were $250, and the boost bottle was about 30 bucks. I fired it up after I was done, and it sounded nice, had a nice brap brap sound to it./polarisman/../images/users/lifttillithurts/Dcp_0001.jpg

·
Registered
331 Posts
since I am not a mechanic, I was wondering if you could explain how the "Boost bottle" works? and...what is the advantage of V-force 3 reeds over say Boyeson reeds?

·
Registered
777 Posts
if i can make a suggestion,add some slp power pacs,they work well
and where the pto oil line runs accross the front of the boots,make sure it doesn,t touch the boots, vibrations will cause the boots or line to rub through, and basicly make sure nothing rubs on the bottle,

VTSheener
the bottle acts as a balance bottle,equalize the pressure to both carbs.when one carb is on the intake stroke and the the reed valves open,fuel charge flowing, then when the reeds close,instead of the fuel coming to a stop it actually continues to the other clyinder through the boost bottle,giving a boost (sort off) to the other cly. there more to it then that,buts that the drift of it.i have used carbon tech with good results, PIPE,HEADS,the more mod your motor is, the better v-force work, but durabilty apperently isn,t very good with the v-f
the main advantage of v-f is that they flow more, 4 reeds per cage

·
Registered
2,307 Posts
Looks good lift. You should have a nice little rocket once you get the pipes and clutching done! Be sure to take pics and post em' as you go.

·
Registered
331 Posts
Hey Lifttillithurts....did you also have to replace the carb boots? the ones pictured here look a little different.(and is that part of the "kit"?)

·
Registered