Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Its early I know, but i'm starting to look for a new sled for next year. I now own a
92 Polaris XCR, and even with all the mods it has, its a far cry from the power i want

I am interested in something like a polaris Indy 650 or RXL. For some reason those triples really turn me on. lol. I was wondering what the rumors are about them. Are they good sleds? reliable? are there known problems with the 650 engine, and mostly i would like to know what the big difference between the 650 and rxl is. Thanx!

Remember: DON"T HESITATE.........ACCELERATE!!!!

·
Registered
46 Posts
Whoa, that is getting to be some old iron! (I ride an 89 500 and a 95 XLT Special, so I know what old is all about). I'll be the first to admit that I'm not an expert on this topic, and I've never owned an RXL or 650, but I have ridden with guys that did own those sleds.

From what I remember, fuel injection didn't do much for the 650 (the RXL version), and the guys that I talked to all prefered being able to do the "tweaking" themselves, so the preference was for the 650 carb. Everyone that I rode with (four guys that had 650's) all had good luck with their sleds. I think the only friend of mine that had problems and burned a piston was a guy that did some serious mods to his 650. When it ran, you could not stop the guy, but it only had two speeds - Wide open, hauling buttski, or broken.

So, my advice, go with the 650, not the RXL, but watch out when you get up near 100 MPH for the windshield folding down. If you are not prepared for it, it'll about rip your helmet off your head....

·
Registered
46 Posts
Where did you get the sled pics that appear in your posting? I'd like to find a nice pic of a 1995 XLT Special to use for wallpaper on my PC. Any ideas where I can go?

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4