Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
I deffinatly think that the cpu should has been disconnected before welding but i am a welder by trade and i can honestly say i have done lots of welding on cars with everything hooked up, i think the only way a current could get to your cpu is thru the ground, everything else should be isolated, but i'm not 100% on that.

·
Registered
3,130 Posts
I am also a welder, I would have disconnected that. But like fonz said, it should all be insulated. As it should have been grounded right next to the spot that needed to be welded, so the current should have passed right from the weld to the ground clamp.

·
Registered
8,842 Posts
seeing the size of the internals of a cdi, it wouldnt take much juice to backflow from the welders ground through the cdi looking for a better ground.

you welders ever have wet gloves or welding in the mud, you get a shock even though the ground is hooked up. same thing.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Any way to test the cdi for a short? Will a 98 cdi work on a 96. The connectors are the same but the wires are all different colors.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I found a way to bypass the kill switch/teather or any elctrical short in accessory circuit. I guess you cross the two non yellow wires that come righ from the stator. If that doesnt work then its ign related. Like a cdi/stator/coil/plug wire/ ect. I did this with no luck. How do you test a cdi or stator?

Please, any help with this would be much appreciated as I'd like to go hit the 10 inches of fresh powder we just got. I blew up my xcr so this tank is my only option.

Thanks!!!! :)....

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
im pretty sure to bypass everything you can just unplug it. also, about welding with things hooked up. i have welded on a ford ranger and have popped a breaker for the the fuel pump so it is posible you have fried the cdi

·
Registered
203 Posts
madcow said: