Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going from 121" to 136" on my 01 600xc. My question is what else should I be doing when I have the rear skid out and track off? Any routine maintenance or things that should be checked while it is apart is what I am looking for. If there are things I can upgrade or change easily and inexpensively while it's out I might as well do so right? I am also thinking of dropping a tooth to give myself more off the line but not lose too much top end, thoughts on how many teeth and which one without needing to change chains? I am new to this and any advice would be appreciated. Also wondering what a boost bottle is/does and if it's worth it in your opinions. Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
770 Posts
I think dropping a tooth or even two is good idea. I always gear my sleds to run about 85-90 mph shifted out. It's all I need...

As far as things to do when you put a longer track on... Overhaul the suspension. Remove as much friction as you can. It will really make a difference. Make sure the bearings are in good shape, and lube everything up very well. Also, make sure your shocks are in good operating condition, and your springs are all in good shape.

If you do a lot of deep powder riding, it's not a bad idea to put some drop brackets in the tunnel to let that suspension hang out of the tunnel a little further...Some friends and I have done that with good results.

People will be telling you to put a big-wheel kit on the sled...I'm not sure I'm sold on the idea that it will give you noticable performance gains... some say they do... others say they don't...

good luck!

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #3