Snowmobile Fanatics banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Man i just got a 440ss i have ridden it the last few days and now it's overevn hardcore...and i'm new to sleds so any suggestions? and it just started doing it all at once....help....it's snowing out...GRRRRRRR [}:)]

·
Registered
848 Posts
What do you mean by over-revving? Did it drive fine in the past few days?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bames said:
What do you mean by over-revving? Did it drive fine in the past few days?
It was rideing great then just started to gas itself hard checked cables everything but it's tryn to max rpm when it fires up....now it wont fire up at all..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Rainman56 said:
So when you start it it revs up high and wants to take off without touching the throttle?
That is correct... it is not wanting to start now.... but my son was rideing it and he said it slowly started revn more and more as he rode it....and when he pulled up i killed it and checked cables and everything looked fine...but still was doing the same so i put it in the garage...just tryn to get an ideal on what to look for..

·
Registered
393 Posts
What type of carbs are on that?I know most sleds have mikunis but some yammies ran keihns if I remember correctly.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Rainman56 said:
What type of carbs are on that?I know most sleds have mikunis but some yammies ran keihns if I remember correctly.
Not sure...this is all new to me as far as sleds go gona have to do some homework on it... it's a 1982 440 ss...

·
Registered
848 Posts
If you follow the throttle cable it will connect to a small lever, make sure that the lever is free. There may be a spring there too, to put tension on the lever. You should be able to move it back and forth and it should go back to it's position, not just sticking there.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Bames said: