Snowmobile Fanatics banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, i am new to snowmobiling. I pick up a used Yamaha 1996 vmax 600xt sled last year. It is pretty good I think. My first sled so really nothing to compare it too. I hear you can get these sleds going pretty good. On initial take off I can't spin the track or lift a ski off the ground or anything like that. It seems like when I punch the throttle it takes off and then all of a sudden boom, I am gone. It runs good and is fast but I want that fast initial take-off. Is this a clutching question then? What do I do? I have a studded track if that makes any difference?

·
Registered
21 Posts
i have a 94 vmax 600 and i'm only 150 pounds and if i crack the throttle on mine the track spins like crazy and the skis come up a little bit. but thats only on hard snow. i just put a new stock helix in it last year if that makes a diff. but i know in 1995 they changes the clutch so yours is def diff. mine will do 100mph in perfect conditions if thas a help

Jason Everill

·
Registered
2,273 Posts
It could probably use some clutch work, but you could also clean the carbs, and make sure that they are syncronised.... I take it that you are not that mechanically inclined... You could just take it to your dealer, or shop and ask them to check it out....

GO HARD, OR GO HOME - IF YOU COME TO A FORK IN THE ROAD...TAKE IT

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am not really mechanically inclined but can do a bunch of stuff actually on a car and stuff like that. I am just scared of screwing something up! Besides, i called my dealer and they want $100 to clean both my carbs and I know I can do it myself for like $5 and my time! I just don't know how to do it. Is synchronizing the carbs hard to do? If you take them off to clean do you have to resynchronize the carbs and cables and stuff like that or just put it back together???

·
Registered
206 Posts